Rugby World Cup: Mathieu Bastareaud and Morgan Parra not in France squad

Bastareaud, who has 54 caps, made his check debut in 2009

Mathieu Bastareaud and Morgan Parra had been brushed off of France’s 37-man squad for the Rugby World Cup.

Centre Bastareaud, 30, beforehand captained Les Bleus within the absence of traditional skipper Guilhem Guirado.

Scrum-1/2 Parra, furthermore 30, is dominated out with an ankle injury sustained playing for Clermont final month.

Racing 92 flit Teddy Thomas and La Rochelle prop Uini Atonio furthermore fail to spot replacement for the match, which begins in Japan on 20 September.

France open their campaign in opposition to Argentina on 21 September sooner than facing the US, Tonga and Eddie Jones’ England in Pool C.

Bastareaud, capped 54 times by his country, and Parra, who has seventy one caps, both conducted within the France crew overwhelmed by New Zealand within the quarter-finals of the 2015 World Cup, whereas Parra furthermore featured within the 2011 match.

But outgoing head coach Jacques Brunel, who will most doubtless be succeeded by Fabien Galthie after the World Cup, has no longer included both on his list of 31 plus six standby avid gamers.

Brunel has named three uncapped avid gamers in Clermont flit Alivereti Raka, Toulouse hooker Peato Mauvaka and Toulon prop Emerick Setiano.

Toulouse’s Top 14-winning aspect dominate the list with seven avid gamers, together with a attach for centre Sofiane Guitoune, whose final cap got right here during in 2015.

Brunel revealed Guitoune’s make had been one amongst the reasons for Bastareaud’s omission.

“He [Bastareaud] is ready tubby of competitors with avid gamers in make. I’m thinking of Sofiane Guitoune who has been very accurate,” Brunel talked about.

“I wasn’t sure if Guitoune might per chance well preserve up his make throughout the total season however he did.”

France squad


Poirot (Bordeaux-Begles), Priso (La Rochelle), Guirado (Toulon, capt), Chat (Racing 92), Mauvaka (Toulouse), Setiano (Toulon), Slimani (Clermont), Bamba (Brive), Vahaamahina (Clermont), Lambey (Lyon), B Le Roux (Racing 92), Gabrillagues (Stade Francais), Iturria (Clermont), Y Camara (Montpellier), Lauret (Racing 92), Alldritt (La Rochelle), Picamoles (Montpellier)


A Dupont (Toulouse), Serin (Bordeaux-Begles), Machenaud (Racing 92), Ntamack (Toulouse), Lopez (Clermont), Fofana (Clermont), Fickou (Stade Francais), Doumayrou (La Rochelle), Guitoune (Toulouse), Huget (Toulouse), Penaud (Clermont), Raka (Clermont), Ramos (Toulouse), Medard (Toulouse)


Falgoux (Clermont), Ollivon (Toulon), F Cros (Toulouse), Willemse (Montpellier), Belleau (Toulon), Rattez (La Rochelle)

Read More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *